Skip to content

Wildsight welcoming nominations for nature protection award

The 2024 Ellen Zimmerman award nominations can be submitted online
Ellen Zimmerman receives distinguished service gifts and recognition at Wildsight AGM, Invermere, BC. (Pat Morrow)

Wildsight will now be accepting nominations for its 2024 conservation award.

The 2024 Ellen Zimmerman Award is now open for nominations. The award is meant to recognize someone who works to protect nature and inspires a love of nature in others through environmental education.

The winner of the award receives a commemorative art piece and $1,000.

Previous winners of the award were Kootenay biologist, Rachel Darvill, and Living Lakes founder, Kat Hartwig.

Ellen Zimmerman, the award’s namesake was a resident of Golden who died in 2020. Zimmerman worked hard for nature conservation in the Columbia Valley for more than 40 years, according to Wildsight. Wildsight said that part of Zimmerman’s legacy was her protection of the Columbia Wetlands, which is among the longest intact wetlands in North America.

Wildsight said in a release that the award was created to honour Zimmerman and to “recognize education champions in the Columbia Headwaters region,” which stretches from Canal Flats to the Mica Dam.

The deadline for nominations is March 31 and can be done on Wildsight’s website.

READ MORE: Revelstoke will be off to the races, the outhouse race is back

Zach Delaney

About the Author: Zach Delaney

I came to the Revelstoke Review from Ottawa, Ontario, where I earned a Master of Journalism degree from Carleton University.
Read more